Bye Bye Babies!

It’s been very quiet here on my little blog for the last couple of weeks, sorry. I have had a bit of a head cold which left me feeling a little groggy, but I’m finally feeling better!

In news from home, all the swallow babies seem to have left their nests now. It has been a very successful year for the swallow families who live in our stable roof each summer. Most years we have to rescue babies who fall out and clamber up step ladders to return them to their homes (this doesn’t turn their parents against them as people seem to think. They normally survive as long as the fall hasn’t injured them.), but not this year, we haven’t noticed any losses! So here’s a picture of one clutch of babies about to fly!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Awwww that’s so sweet of you to rescue the swallow babies! They look so cute πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • Thanks Alicia!!
      They are so sweet when they are all peeking over the edge of their nest but my camera wasn’t good enough to get that! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  2. I love watching Swallows and Swifts. They remind me of the freedom I felt when I was young.

    Reply
    • They are great, I love watching them swooping and diving they are so fast and yet they can fly through the smallest of gaps without ever crashing, it would be amazing to see what the world looks like through their eyes! πŸ˜€

      Reply
      • They also remind me of all the cool people at school. Everything seemed effortless. I was so envious.

  3. Great job.

    I’m glad they’ve all fared well this year πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Thanks David, πŸ˜€
    Yes it’s been a good year for them, unlike a lot of other wildlife in this country, what with all the rain we’ve had!! 😦

    Reply
  5. Oh…well done honey. That’s so lovely. Yeap, our little, well, not so little wild ducklings are getting ready to fledge. They’ve been doing flying lessons round the lawn, but swallows…that’s SO amazing!

    Reply
    • Yes… It’s amazing how quickly they are up and flying! It’s kind of sad too, as they’ll be disappearing for the winter, but they’ll be back again next year!! πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

