I Was Conned!!

I like to think I’m fairly savvy and wouldn’t be fooled that easily, but I have to admit that my local pet shop may have conned me!

As you may know I have a crested gecko living with me, and despite being told he should only eat puréed fruit I know he loves small insects.

IMG_0246 (2)

So as a treat I often buy him a box of silent crickets.

Box of Crickets

He loves these and can move surprisingly fast when I let a couple go in his vivarium!

IMG_0237 (2)

But here lies the problem, it’s not that easy to get the crickets out of the box and into the vivarium one at a time (there can be 30 or more in a box!). As a result occasionally one manages to escape! I try not to think about these small bugs that might be hopping around my house, but over the last couple of weeks I’ve not been able to. Why? Because the pet shop lied to me when they told me they were SILENT crickets!! The last one to escape is not silent at all! The little b**** has been making constant chirpy cricket noises and for a small fellow he can make a very loud noise!

crickets

He is so small, that so far he’s managed to evade capture and keeps up a constant reminder of his presence in my home. I’m nowjust a bit worried about how big he may grow!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Don’t want to scare you but I hear they grow up to two feet tall.
    Even worse in Warks.

    Reply
  2. Oh Lindsey, I’ve heard of mice, fleas and so on, but never a cricket invasion! 😀

    Reply
  3. If it starts wanting to be in charge of the remote control, then you know he’s there for good! Lol, oh poor you! Could you let the gecko loose in your living room to hunt him down?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

